in ,

APC National Chairmanship Race Narrows Down to Former Governors Ganduje and Al-Makura

The race for the National Chairmanship of the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, has narrowed down to two former governors, Dr. Abdullahi Ganduje of Kano and Senator Tanko Al-Makura of Nasarawa states, according to reliable sources.

Stakeholders from the North Central region are said to be putting up a spirited fight to retain the seat in their zone. However, indications suggest that President Bola Tinubu may have settled on Dr. Ganduje as the preferred candidate for the National Chairman position.

However, some APC chieftains are raising concerns about Ganduje’s candidacy, as the North West region, where he hails from, already holds key leadership positions such as the Offices of the Speaker, House of Representatives, and Deputy Senate President.

READ ALSO:  HEARTBREAKING: Woman chopped off finger of niece for disobeying her in Onitsha

Initially, speculations were rife that Senator Tanko Al-Makura would take over from Senator Abdullahi Adamu as the party’s National Chairman. But later developments indicated that Ganduje’s name might have been dropped from Tinubu’s list of ministerial nominees to facilitate his selection as the national chairman.

A reliable party source revealed, “President Tinubu has settled for the former Kano state governor, Ganduje, to replace Senator Adamu as the party’s national chairman. Despite initially considering Ganduje for ministerial appointment, President Tinubu changed his mind to allow Ganduje to take up this crucial party role, demonstrating his trust and confidence in the former governor.”

The battle for the APC National Chairmanship continues to generate interest, with party stakeholders closely watching the developments as the final decision draws near.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Nigerians Frustrated as Petrol Prices Soar, Government Faces Backlash

Fuel Price Hike Sparks Outrage: PDP and LP Reject APC-led Government’s Move