Lagos State Assembly Confirms 22 Cabinet Nominees; Rejects 17 Others

In a recent session, the Lagos State House of Assembly approved the confirmation of 22 out of the 39 cabinet nominees submitted by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu for screening. Speaker Mudashiru Obasa presided over the plenary, noting that the confirmed nominees had undergone thorough assessment by an ad hoc committee led by Chief Whip Fatai Mojeed.

Speaker Obasa commended the committee for its meticulous approach to the screening process and reminded the confirmed appointees of their duty to serve the state’s populace rather than individuals. He assured that the Assembly would persist in acting in the best interest of Lagos State.

However, 17 of the nominees were not approved during the confirmation process. Speaker Obasa announced the names of each nominee, and a voice vote led to their rejection. Aro Abiodun, the representative of Ikorodu Constituency II in the House, refrained from commenting on the reasons behind the rejection, stating he could only speak for his constituency.

READ ALSO:  11,000 Persons Working In Meta, Facebook To Lose Jobs

Chief Whip Fatai Mojeed, who headed the screening committee, conveyed that the decision was unanimous among the 40 members of the House, but did not elaborate further.

An anonymous former member of the House suggested that rejections could stem from various factors, including lack of APC party membership, questionable qualifications, security concerns, criminal records, unexplained dismissals from office, and more.

Regarding the possibility of the rejected nominees being reconsidered, the former lawmaker stated, “No. They won’t be cleared. The governor will have to send other names.”

Responding to the developments, Gboyega Akosile, Chief Press Secretary to Governor Sanwo-Olu, clarified that the governor had not yet received official communication about the screening outcome. Akosile stated that once the Speaker transmits the decision to the governor, the appropriate response will be given.

READ ALSO:  Our mandate is to produce a president of Nigeria of Igbo extraction in 2023 - Ohaneze National VP

The list of rejected nominees includes: Folashade Adefisayo, Akin Abayomi, Yomi Oluyomi, Folashade Ambrose, Barakat Bakare, Gbenga Omotosho, Olalere Odusote, Rotimi Fashola, Bolaji Dada, Sam Egube, Olalekan Fatodu, Solape Hammond, Mosopefolu George, Aramide Adeyoye, Seun Osiyemi, Rotimi Ogunwuyi, and Olumide Oluyinka.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

President Tinubu Initiates Leadership Changes in Key Government Agencies

Elderly Tractor Driver Faces Charges for Causing N320 Million Property Damage in Lagos