in ,

Ministerial Nominee Scrutiny: Security Checks Delay Confirmation of Three Candidates, Including Former Governor el-Rufai

The Senate has confirmed 45 out of the 48 ministerial nominees presented by President Bola Tinubu, but three candidates, including Nasir el-Rufai, are undergoing further security checks before receiving full legislative approval.

Impeccable Senate sources reveal that the unconfirmed nominees are currently undergoing rigorous security assessments due to concerns raised during the screening process.

An anonymous source shared, “Evidence against the nominees triggered the security checks, prompting a need for additional scrutiny.”

Another source confirmed this, stating that the Senate is closely monitoring the nominees due to potentially incriminating information. Consequently, the names have been referred back to the executive branch for thorough examination.


Senate spokesperson, Yemi Adaramodu, explained that 45 names have been successfully confirmed as ministers, while the remaining three await further legislative action pending evaluations by other government entities.

The confirmation process was marred by petitions, including one against Nasir el-Rufai. Senator Sunday Karimi lodged a petition against the former Kaduna State governor, focusing on the issue of insecurity in Southern Kaduna. Despite this, Senate President Godswill Akpabio stated that the screening was not the appropriate time to address the petitions.

Another nominee, Senator Abubakar Danlandi from Taraba State, faces a petition regarding a court judgment barring him from holding public office for ten years due to a case involving lying on oath.

Stella Okotete, former Nexim Bank Managing Director, also encountered challenges with several petitions against her, alleging non-disclosure of assets to the Code of Conduct Bureau.

The confirmed nominees include Rivers State Governor Nyesom Wike, former Ebonyi Governor David Umahi, Abubakar Kyari of the All Progressive Congress, Beta Edu, Deputy Chief Whip Nkiruka Onyejiocha, legal expert Lateef Fagbemi, and more.

The second list of 19 approved nominees encompasses former governors, senators, and various professionals, including Adegboyega Oyetola, Atiku Bagudu, Simon Bako Lalong, Bello Matawalle, and others.

The last nominee on the list is former Minister of State for Labour and Employment, Festus Keyamo (SAN).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Violent Clash Erupts as BRT Bus Collision Sparks Outrage: Policeman Assaulted

POS Operator Left Disheartened as Cunning Fraudster Escapes After Conning Her Twice in Lagos