Sunday, May 29, 2022

Names of the 12 suspended Anambra State Traditional Rulers


A circular from Mr Greg Obi, Commissioner for Local Government Chieftaincy matters said the twelve traditional rulers traveled outside the state without consultation or authorization from the state government.

The circular titled “Suspension of Twelve (12) Traditional Rulers in Anambra State,” and dated Tuesday August 11, 2020, listed the affected traditional rulers as follows –

1. Igwe Alex Edozieuno of Mkpunando

2. Igwe Mark Anthony Okonkwo of Alor

3. Igwe Chukuwma Bob Vincent Orji of Ezinifite

4. Igwe Engr G.B.C Mbakwe of Abacha

5. Igwe Chijioke Nwankwo of Nawfia

6. Igwe Nkeli Nelly of Igbariam

7. Igwe Anthony Onyekwere of Owelle

8. Igwe A. N Onwuneme of Ikenga

9. Igwe Simon Ikechukwu Chidubem of Umumbo

10. Igwe S. O Uche of Ezira

11. Igwe Dr Emeka Ilouno of Ifitedunu

12. Igwe Peter Ikegbunem Udoji of Eziagulu Otu.

The suspension took effect from Tuesday, August 11, 2020.

The circular warned the suspended traditional rulers not to parade themselves as traditional rulers and to desist from discharging functions as traditional rulers in their communities or anywhere within the state and beyond with immediate effect.

The circular also revoked their membership of Anambra State Traditional Rulers Council and cancelled any appointment they may be holding in government committees until the suspension is lifted.

Daily News Reporters

DISCLAIMER: Opinion articles are solely the responsibility of the author and does not necessarily reflect the views of the publishers of Daily News Reporters

ADVERT/PUBLICATION: Reach the right people at the right time with Daily News Reporters.  Try and advertise any kind of your business to users online today. Kindly call or Whatsapp us for your advert or publication on +2348037097936

Related articles

Recent articles