Tinubu Unveils Renaming of Airports to Honor Buhari, Awolowo, and More [Full List]

President Bola Tinubu, has renamed some federal airports after several prominent Nigerians.

The renaming of the airports was announced in a memo released by the Federal Ministry of Aviation dated June 1, 2023, and signed by Mrs Joke Olatunji for the Director of Airport Operations on Monday.

The statement noted that the President renamed the airports “as part of reforms of the Aviation sector.”

The Maiduguri Airport was renamed after the immediate past President Muhammadu Buhari and the Port Harcourt Airport after the late nationalist Obafemi Awolowo, while the Nasarawa Airport immortalised the late founder of the Sokoto Caliphate, Usman Dan Fodio.

READ ALSO:  Ambode To Announce Political Ambitions By Friday

Also, the Benin Airport was renamed after the late Oba of Benin, Oba Akenzua II, Ebonyi Airport after the late Senate President Chuba Okadigbo, and the Ibadan Airport after the late Premier of the old Western Region, Ladoke Akintola.

See the full list below:

  1. Akure Airport – Olumuyiwa Bernard Aliu

  2. Benin Airport – Oba Akenzua II

  3. Dutse Airport – Muhammad Nuhu Sanusi

  4. Ebonyi Airport – Chuba Wilberforce Okadigbo

  5. Gombe Airport – Brigadier Zakari Maimalari

  6. Ibadan Airport – Samuel Ladoke Akintola

  7. Ilorin Airport – Gen. Tunde Idiagbon

  8. Kaduna Airport – Hassan Usman Katsina

  9. Maiduguri Airport – Gen. Mumammadu Buhari

  10. Makurdi Airport – Joseph Sarwuan Tarka

  11. Minna Airpor – Mallam Abubakar Imam

  12. Nassarawa Airport – Sheikh Usman Dan Fodio

  13. Osubi Airport – Alfred Diete Spiff

  14. Port Harcourt Airport – Obafemi Jeremiah Awolowo

  15. Yola Airport – Lamido Aliyu Mustapha

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Burna Boy Triumphs as Fans Celebrate Best International Act Win at BET Awards 2023

Anambra State Government Distances Itself from Anambra Awards Event